Do the Hard Work

WHERE I WAS

This is our last week of school and the week before we leave for vacation…so naturally my to-do list is gigantic. I was excited to actually shower this morning and thought the day was off to an amazing start. I envisioned excess time, smiles as we worked, and even the wildlife helping out. You know. Cinderella style.

Work Hard

Seriously, I was delirious.

Instead, I got nothing accomplished and had to put myself in a time-out. As I sat thinking about my heart, I was feeling terrible. I had been scolding my daughter. The one that wants to help me clean and prep for our trip. Why?  Because she wouldn’t stop talking so I could think. I get it. I’m the same way. But now the tables had turned and I was annoyed.

Instead, I sat. Accomplished nothing. Too overwhelmed to move forward.

TODAY

Today, it’s crunch time. Seriously. I have a lot of work to do. And instead of feeling overwhelmed, I feel motivated. Excited to begin. I can see the future, what is coming, what I am preparing for. And it looks wonderful!

Do you have those days, too? The days that seem like there is too much work. Too much mess. And you can’t see the glory in it. The wonder. The beauty that will come from it.

If you do (because you are a human!), I want to encourage you. Press on, dear friend. Keep moving forward. Seek where God is moving and follow. Walk on. Do the hard work. Sow the seeds. And then be prepared to rejoice.

THE PSALMS

Today, as I read my daily Psalms (you can read more about how I have been enjoying time in the Psalms, here), I was reminded of this. I read Psalm 126. It is a short Psalm, so I am going to share it, in its entirety, here:

“When the Lord restored the fortunes of Zion, we were like those who dream. Then our mouth was filled with laughter and our tongue with shouts of joy; then they said among the nations, ‘The Lord has done great things for them.’ The Lord has done great things for us; we are glad. Restore our fortunes, O Lord, like streams in the Negeb! Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy! He who goes out weeping bearing the seed for sowing shall come home with shouts of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.”

If you have been following our story, you know we have walked a hard journey with our sweet Boy-Child. (You can catch up here.) We have sowed in tears. We have walked the hard. The messy. The seemingly unending. We have clung to God and remembered that it is ALL for His glory. So we trusted. We crawled and fell and bravely continued to walk. And though our journey is not yet over, we are beginning to see our harvest.

IMG_2804

Yesterday, my sweet Boy-Child had his preschool celebration. At first it did not go well. It made him scared, nervous. But then. At the very end of the celebration. He danced. (You can see a snippet of the video on my Instagram page, here.) It was amazing grace. And I cried. Joyous, beautiful tears. Tears shouting my praise and thanks to my God. To the God that walked with me as I cried for all these years. To the God that put me in community as I walked the hard of this journey and continue to walk the unknown.

As Boy Child has made huge steps forward, they didn’t seem real. His progress didn’t make sense. And then when my eyes were opened and I saw what was happening, I was filled with joy. Awe. Wonder. Thankfulness. Yes. The Lord has done great things for me. For my family. For us. Though we sowed in tears. Though our journey is not yet done. We are beginning to reap with shouts of joy. And some tears. Those beautiful tears that come from a good ole’ ugly cry.

I am beginning to see glimmers of His plan. Of His glory. I have known it to be there. I have known His glory would be shown through our journey. But getting to see hints has been amazing. And oh such grace. Giving us enough of a reminder to keep us pushing forward. Pressing on to where He is going, where He wants us to go. To grow. To LIVE.

Do you find yourself in that place, today? That place of pushing forward, doing what needs to be done. But you are getting tired, overwhelmed. You can’t see the end. The glory. If you do, send me a message or leave a comment. I want to be praying for you. And I would love to encourage you to find your way to the Psalms. Let them be a balm to your soul. Let them speak peace and truth over you. 

IMG_2730

P.S. Monday. This Is How We Do It is BACK! This time we are talking about Dinner Time. Get ready to read about our crazy that is called dinner time. And then get ready to give me pointers because it’s not too pretty here. But really. Please get ready to share some of your tips and tricks to make dinner time a great family time!

This post is part of the Friday Favorites link up with: Andrea at MomfessionalsNarci at Grace and Love Blog, & Erika at A Little Bit of Everything Blog

5 thoughts on “Do the Hard Work

  1. I’ve loved watching God work in & through you & your family, especially through your journey with your son. Thank you for sharing your heart – it’s such an encouragement to me. Also, can’t wait for our link up on Monday!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Courage In My Too Much: Over-Sharing | Grace Mountain Diaries

Leave a Reply

