July: The Grace of Adventure

Phew. July was a pretty amazing month. It was a month completely unlike any I have ever had before, and will likely ever have again. July was a month filled with travel, a month filled with adventure. 

Travel

I have always enjoyed traveling. When we got married, Greg brought me out west. I had never experienced the changing landscapes, the mountains, the history found in the western United States before. I had also never experienced camping before. But I immediately fell in love with both. Ever since the few trips out west, I have waited (impatiently) to return. Every year I ask my husband if the kids are old enough to make the long drive west. Each year the answer is no. So each year we return to Florida.

DSC04146

This month, I had the opportunity to go to Greece for a family reunion. I didn’t think it would work (because I have 4 children – Greece for a family of 6 was certainly out of the budget, and who would watch them while I went adventuring!). I was happy to skip the reunion, sacrifices are a part of life and mothering, and I was unwilling to sacrifice our annual family vacation. However, my husband made a way for me to go.
Grace. Amazing, unnecessary, undeserved, unplanned, pure love. Grace.
He knew how much it would mean for me to see Greece with my Yia-Yia, to see where she grew up, where she lived. He watched our children, while he worked. And he even went grocery shopping. With all.four.kids. I am still amazed. Truly, beautiful grace.

FullSizeRender (53)

IMG_4039

Now, having traveled to Greece, I no longer yearn to return west (although I would still love to!). My constant questions instead are, “When can I go back to Greece?” (Catch up on my Greece Adventures with Greece Favorites: Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3.)


Greece Travels

IMG_3784

FullSizeRender (39)

Chania Gorge

After recuperating from the effects of having jet lag + four children, we left for a camping trip to New York. We visited Niagara Falls (the Canadian side) and camped in the Adirondack Mountains. Both were incredible experiences that I am so thankful to have experienced with my two eldest children. There will be a post coming soon, all about the trip, but for now, here are a few pictures. (You can also follow me on Instagram for more pictures of our adventures in real life.) The trip was a reminder of the grace of creation, the grace of family, and the grace of travel.

Visiting Niagara Falls

Visit Niagara Falls Ontario

The Adirondack Mountains

Adirondack Mountains

Travel Adirondack Mountains

Though July was a month of adventure, it was also a month of grace: the grace found in adventure, in seeing new things, in experiencing the glory of creation.

Chania Harbor

But there was more. July began and ended with community. The real grace of July was not found in adventure or in experiences, but instead it was found in people. July began with seeing Greg’s family: a play date with his cousin and her boys (it’s extra special because she has also become one of my closest friends) and a housewarming/gender reveal party for his brother/sister-in-law! (You know her as The Nested Nomad.)

We hit the jackpot! #Littlebearbergman is a girl! 🎀

A post shared by Brittany L. Bergman (@brittanylbergman) on

July ended with catching up with dear friends, cooing at babies, fun dates, walks with friends, and bunco with neighbors. Community provided the perfect bookends for a month of adventure. Actually, community provided the supports, the trusses, for a month of adventure. 

Date Night

Bonfire and Smores

Family

IMG_4611

I am oh so thankful for each moment of July. I am thankful for each adventure, both the big and small ones. I am thankful to have seen and experienced more of the glory of creation. I am thankful to have seen and visited the homes of my Yia-Yia in Greece. I am thankful for the grace found in adventure.

Thankful

But I am even more thankful for the everyday moments. The conversations with neighbors, the dates with my husband, the walks with friends, and the cuddles with babies. I am thankful for these moments of community. I am thankful for the reminders that I am not alone. I am thankful to be in a place, a space where I can be supported and strengthened. I am thankful for the grace of community.

I am thankful for each friendship, each adventure, and each moment of grace. Especially when grace surprised me. Where did you find grace this month? Did grace surprise you too?

IMG_3810

Catch up on a few of my favorite July posts:

Intentional Quiet

Embracing the Mess of Me

Finding the Balance: Space & Community

Seeing Small: Embracing the Ordinary Moments

24 thoughts on “July: The Grace of Adventure

  1. I love your adventures!!! Easily two of the trips that blew me away is when my husband and I saw the Grand Canyon. Who knew you could just stand and look at rock and be completely moved at the power it would take to make it? And then last year’s trip to South Dakota. We had our two kids (at the time) with us and it was perfect. We saw Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, walked (and climbed) around in the Badlands. It was such a great trip. We can hardly wait until our newest baby, Penelope, is old enough to come on adventures with us.

    Like

  2. Are you from Greece? That’s crazy amazing, I’ve always thought it’s probably one of the most beautiful places on earth and I would love to visit with all my heart but thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  3. Wonderful way to review your experiences. I spent this past month with my family in Ecuador and seeing that pic of you with yr Yia-Yia was so heart felt!

    Like

    • Thank you, Ally! My Yia-Yia watched me when I was little, so we have always been very close. Seeing her homes was beyond moving. 💛 It is such a blessing to be able to experience “home” with family. I pray your trip to Ecuador was amazing as well!

      Like

  4. First of all, your husband is so wonderful for making your Greece trip happen! What a great guy! And second, I’m not sure I knew that nestednomad was your sisterinlaw!!!!!! Wow! What a small world! 🙂

    Like

  5. I love this…your July sounds so wonderful! I love that you include your kids on all sorts of trips and adventures, even when it might be easier to just stay home. My husband and I hope to do the same things and always bring our children with us to see the world whenever we can! I’m glad your July was so so sweet. 🙂

    Also…Brittany from the Nested Nomad is your sister in law? That’s awesome! I’ve been loving her blog lately and that’s such a funny small-world connection since I’ve been loving your blog too! 🙂

    Like

  6. LOVE this. Makes my heart full 🙂 You know, Adventure is my word for 2015 so of course I love hearing about other people’s adventures too. That last photo of the baby with the verse really touched my heart… I feel like God knew I needed that reminder. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    • I didn’t know that, Emily! Thank you! It has been a fun and unexpected summer!
      And I am so thankful that God used that! Her name is Willow and dear friends of mine recently adopted her, after a long and winding adoption journey. It has been hard and beautiful. And all completely worth it. Love to you, Emily. 💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

