On Loving Everyone, Even the Cat

Friday, November 13. What is supposed to be an unlucky day is instead the day that brought me my ‘Goose.’ I will never forget the first moment I saw her, held her in my arms. I am in awe of her still, six years later.

DSC01587

And so today, I sit and think about who my daughter is. What she believes. What word describes the very core of who she is. Only one comes to mind.

LOVE.

That’s it. One word. A powerful one. A word that changes lives. A word that changes people. A word that changes the world.


This is my daughter. Love. She loves everyone.

Countless times she whispers words of truth to me, “See everyone, love everyone,” usually with the final caveat: “Even the cat, Mommy.”

No matter what was done to her. No matter how she was treated. She sees everyone and loves them. And she doesn’t love them the way she wants to be loved. No, she loves people the way they need to be loved. She has this amazing gift of truly seeing people, their needs. Even their mess. And loving them beautifully. 

IMG_4903

And after the events of this Friday, November 13, I think we could all stand to learn from my daughter.

When we are hurt, we should love anyway. 

When we are scared, we should love anyway. 

When it’s hard, we should love anyway.

When it’s uncomfortable, we should love anyway.

When it gets messy, we should love anyway. 

When it could cost us everything, we should love anyway. 

Because, dear friends, love really does cost us everything. Every time we choose to step out and love, we give up our selfish desires. Love stops us from thinking of our needs. Love gives ourselves away. Love puts us last.

Love takes our very life. 

And what more can I ever ask for than something that requires me to become more and more like my Savior?

Even when it costs me everything. 

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.
Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.”
(1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

love to you

7 thoughts on “On Loving Everyone, Even the Cat

  1. Wow. This is my favorite post. First, the photos are terrific. You did a lovely job with your editing and fonts. They are a visual treat. Second, your message. Your graciousness and gentleness always comes through your words and those words are powerful. They bring healing and hope. They add beauty to the world. I’m always glad I’ve stopped by when I read your posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Grace of Thankfulness: A Look Back at November | Grace Mountain Diaries

Leave a Reply

