The First Snow

There is just something so beautiful about the first snow. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but tonight, I sit, watching snowflakes fall. As they cover the branches  of the trees in the backyard. As the pines become a beautiful winter white. I cannot help but feel something special. Something new.

As I stare out at the sleeping wonderland around me, I feel peace. It is quiet and still. The snow is pure and white. There is nary a footprint to mar it’s beauty.


Perhaps this first snowfall of the season is even more special because it began at night. After (or rather, as) my little ones were tucked quietly into their beds, the snow began its magical and wondrous decent. It quietly began to cover the ground. Nudging the earth to sleep once more.

And it is there that the beauty begins, isn’t it? In the quiet. You know my life is really, anything but quiet. But here, as the snow silently falls, it is. I simply stare out the window. Marveling at the beauty of a snow-covered branch. And it reminds me of more. It reminds me of Him. The Creator. His marvelous works.

Really, that’s the point of gratitude, isn’t it? That’s the heart behind practicing it daily, right? To see Him more clearly. To see Him in everything. We start out this journey of gratitude thinking it is about us.  To remind us of joy. To bring us comfort. Peace. And it will. It certainly will. But only as it draws us closer to Him.

And this quiet stillness. It reminds me of the way we are called to be. To be still. Without fear. Secure. Filled with trust. Just as the earth is still in silent wonder as the snow covers her. Completely trusting that spring will come again. Because it will friends. Wherever you find yourself, know this. Spring is coming. He is coming.

So trust. Be still. Quiet and secure.

“For thus said the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel,
‘In returning and rest you shall be saved;
in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.'” 
(Isaiah 30:15)

love to you

2 thoughts on “The First Snow

  1. I love the first snow. Being from Minnesota, it isn’t winter, christmas or anything magical ever unless there is a sweet, silent, white blanket covering all that is dead or sleeping. The spring is coming always reminds me of Narnia, “Aslan is on the move…” Happy thanksgiving! Thankful for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

