A Look Back at 2015

This weekend at church, we were asked what we were thankful for in 2015.

I sat that morning, holding Boy Child. Holidays and changes to schedules are difficult for him. But the irony of a Sunday service with him and reflecting on 2015 was not lost on me. And perhaps overwhelmed me all the more.

  
I was overwhelmed by tears. Tears of thankfulness for this last year. Tears for the hard parts of our journey. The parts we are still enduring. Tears as I listened to friends and strangers sharing their 2015. Tears as an elderly man walked up and thanked God for the journey. For the hard. And for His Spirit that enables him to continue on. To endure. 

And as I sit here, reflecting on this 2015, I am overwhelmed by all this year held. All it encompassed. By all we have seen. By all we have endured.

I am left overwhelmed by all the growth and beauty of this year. 

You see, 2015 began with a period of hurting. Of questioning. Of not seeing or understanding. 2015 began with blindness and hurt.

Sweet Boy Child was not talking. We were beginning to question what was happening. We were seeking more. More answers. More stillness. More peace. More. Of Him. 

And as we sought Him, He showed Himself to us. Just as He promises:

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 
(Jeremiah 29:13)

We dived into the Bible.
We dived into small groups.
We dived into daily gratitude. 

And we were left changed. 

We saw the effects of daily gratitude as we walked through hard days.

We saw the benefits of iron-sharpening-iron community. We saw the beauty of community filled with truth and wisdom. We shared in a community that challenged and encouraged.

  

We saw the stirring of our hearts as we poured ourselves into His Word. We saw our lives changed. We heard Him speak to us through His word.

For You are my rock and my fortress;
and for Your name’s sake you lead me and guide me; …
Into Your hand I commit my spirit;
You have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God. …
I will rejoice and be glad in Your steadfast love,
because You have seen my affliction; You have known the distress of my soul,
and You have not delivered me into the hand of the enemy;
You have set my feet in a broad place. 
(Psalm 33:3-8)

In February we began neuropsychology testing for Boy Child.
In March we began to see growth. Healing.
In April we received a diagnosis of language delay, developmental coordination delay, and severe anxiety.

And each day, though hard, we saw Him. His love. Reaching out to us. As a refuge. As our strength. As our courage.

Through it all we continue to grow in His Word. We said yes to where He called us. And we have never looked back.

And so today, after a year of…a lot. (There’s no word that truly, fittingly encompasses the beautiful mix of uncomfortable + hard + suffering + grace + mercy + faithfulness + friendship + blessing + truth.) Today, I can look back and see the fruits from it all.

This end of 2015 has found me exceedingly thankful. Thankful to be a part of His glory. To witness Him. His work. His faithfulness.

Thankful for:
* COMMUNITY. People loving me. Us. Through hard days. Difficult appointments. Praying for us. Encouraging growth.
*BEING CALLED MOMMY BY LITTLE LIPS. This mothering. This parenting. This refining of them and me. This drawing us closer to God.
*THE BEAUTY OF CREATION. Seeing the hand of God in it all. And sharing it with those I love.
*MY HUSBAND. His grace. The way he sees me. Knows me. For all that we share.
* GREECE. For adventure. For seeing something new. For experiencing this place, with family. And the anticipation to see it again soon.
* WRITING. For the freedom found in it. For the YES I say with each post. For the beauty in the story. For those reading these words. For the way they will be used. For those encouraging me, joining me.
* COFFEE. The smell. It’s warmth. Joining me each morning as I dwell in the Word.
* TEARS. Each and every one of them. For showing me, reminding me of Him. Of where my heart lives. Where my heart beats strong. Of truth. Of joy. Of peace.

Wishing you a beautiful New Year, friends. Take some time to remember what you are thankful for in this 2015? Can you say you are thankful for the journey? Even in the hard parts? 

love to you

2 thoughts on “A Look Back at 2015

  1. This was beautifully written!! I am sorry you had to go through a lot this year but also glad you seem to be able to find the strength it has brought you as well. I hope this year is better for you in that aspect- maybe a little easier on you!! And greece is one of my dreams to go to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

