Marriage: Learning What’s Important: Part One

Today is a special day: I have been asked to guest post with Katie at Hot Tea and the Empty Seat! I am so honored to be a monthly contributor there, because, honestly, I love the supportive and truthful community she is creating there. I would be so honored if you would join us over there today!

Today on Hot Tea and the Empty Seat, I am sharing a little of what I have learned about marriage.


Greg and I met in high school. We went to college together. We have been married for 10+ years, have 4 children, and Β had so much life happen since we first met 14 years ago.

We have learned a lot from those early years of young love. We chuckle and smile at the innocence of those days. The “perfect-ness” of our marriage. We laugh at the idea of spending endless times with just the two of us. It’s hard to even imagine not having at least one child come to sit with us, talk to us, need help from one of us.

Please understand I am not saying: that we understand each other more, we are perfectly able to interpret each other’s needs more, we are less selfish, or that we have a perfect marriage. Because, honestly, none of that is even remotely true. In fact, when I first thought about writing a post on marriage I thought, “There’s no way I can write about this! Even though we have been married for 10 years, I still have no idea what we are doing! Each day we are learning grace for one another and for our children. We are trying be intentional about finding time for one another while giving our children that time they need. We are still learning to fight fair, how to talk to each other, and how to really listen to what the other has to say.”

All that said, I have learned a few things. And I would love to share them with you! Click here to continue reading.Β 

5 thoughts on “Marriage: Learning What’s Important: Part One

  1. Pingback: Dare To Be Known | Grace Mountain Diaries

  2. I love hearing about strong marriages–truly. Those are great lessons you share. How great that the two of you have been through so many life stages together, and grown through them into the next, together. My husband and I will celebrate 9 years of marriage this Fall. I love being married to him and appreciate how much God teaches both of us through marriage. Happy 10 years to you both πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you and happy (almost) anniversary to you as well! I am so thankful to be have met my husband so early in our lives and to be walking this life with him. Though I know I have much to learn and much more to journey through, I count him/our relationship as one of the greatest graces I have been given. Thank you for your encouragement and be sure to stop by next week for part 2! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Pingback: Marriage & Learning What’s Important: Part Two | Grace Mountain Diaries

  4. Pingback: This Is How We Do It: Date Your Spouse | Grace Mountain Diaries

Leave a Reply

